Editing a Small Community Network Configuration

Last Updated : May 04, 2022 |

When the configuration of a Small Community Network is loaded, Manager displays the configuration in a different way from when the configuration of a single system is loaded. The main differences are in how configuration records are grouped in the configuration tree.

Clicking on the Small Community Network icon displays the Network Viewer which shows the lines between the systems in the Small Community Network.

  • Small Community Network Configuration Records

    Certain records from each of the systems in the Small Community Network are grouped together in the configuration tree differently from when just a single system configuration is loaded. There are two types, unique Small Community Network records and shared Small Community Network records:

  • Unique Records

    They can be edited here and the system to which they belong is indicated in the group pane and in the title bar of the details pane. However, to add or delete these types of record must be done within the configuration records of the particular system that will host the entry's configuration details.

    • All user in the Small Community Network are shown under the User icon.

    • All hunt groups in the Small Community Network are shown under the Hunt Group icon.

  • Shared Records

    Shared records are configuration items that exist on all systems in the Small Community Network, having the same name and settings on each system. Editing the shared record updates the matching copy in the configuration of each system. Similarly, adding or deleting a shared record adds or deletes from the individual system configurations. If the copy of the shared record within an individual configuration is edited, it is no longer a shared record for the Small Community Network though the individual records on other system will remain. Changing the individual records back to matching will turn the records back into a shared record.

    • Shared time profiles are shown under the Time Profile icon.

    • Shared user rights are shown under the User Rights icon.

  • Individual System Configurations

    The full configuration for each system in the Small Community Network can be accessed and edited as required. It is possible to copy and paste configuration records between systems using the configuration tree.

Saving Changes

When the save icon or File | Save Configuration is selected, the menu for multiple configuration saves is displayed. It provides similar options are for a normal single configuration save. Note that when working in  Small Community NetworkManagement mode, after saving configuration changes the Manager will always close the displayed configuration.

  • Change Mode

    If Manager thinks the changes made to the configuration settings are mergeable, it will select Merge by default, otherwise it will select Reboot.

    • Merge

      Send the configuration settings without rebooting the system. This mode should only be used with settings that are mergeable.

    • Reboot

      Send the configuration and then immediately reboot the system.

    • Reboot When Free

      Send the configuration and reboot the system when there are no calls in progress. This mode can be combined with the Call Barring options.

    • Timed

      The same as When Free but waits for a specific time after which it then wait for there to be no calls in progress. The time is specified by the Reboot Time. This mode can be combined with the Call Barring options.

  • Reboot Time

    This setting is used when the reboot mode Timed is selected. It sets the time for the system reboot. If the time is after midnight, the system's normal daily backup is canceled.

  • Call Barring

    These settings can be used when the reboot mode Reboot When Free is selected. They bar the sending or receiving of any new calls.  

  • Error Status

    The warning will appear if the configuration being sent contains any validation errors indicated by a icon in the error pane. The configuration can still be sent if required.