Branch Gateway operates according to the running configuration. When Branch Gateway is reset, Branch Gateway erases the running configuration and loads the startup configuration as the new running configuration. When you change the configuration of Branch Gateway, your changes affect the running configuration. If you do not save the changes and if Branch Gateway is reset, the changes are lost.