If you accidentally create a new version or branch in Tridion Docs and the new version is not being used in any publications, you can delete it.
Do not delete any versions that are being used. If you do delete a version that’s being used, when you open the publication using that version, you’ll see the version listed with a caution icon next to it. You’ll must select the previous version.