User soft delete vs. hard delete

Last Updated : Sep 11, 2018 |
Prolog information
When managing users on System Manager at Home Users User Management Manage Users, a delete option is provided that supports both soft and hard delete. Depending on the delete you perform, ACLs and contact lists may or may not be deleted.

Soft delete

The user is marked as deleted. The logged-in users will be logged out and watchers will not see the presence of the deleted user. If the user is restored, the contacts and ACL rules will be restored.

Hard delete

The logged-in users will be logged out and watchers will not see the presence of the deleted user. The deleted users contacts and ACL rules are removed from the system.
To re-add the user in the system, the end user must recreate the contacts and re-answer any ACL pop ups.